the monochrome monetas, part 2

SONY DSC

AS PROMISED. Another monochrome Moneta.

After I sewed up my second Moneta, I knew two things:

  1. I love this pattern and will wear it all the time.
  2. I really need to stop being so sloppy about matching patterns.

Luckily, my first monochrome Moneta had a nice, busy pattern that downplays all my slatternly sewing. I knew I wouldn’t be so lucky with this striped fabric; any mistakes would stick out like a sore thumb. It’s almost enough to make you stray to solids.

But my word, who could resist this? Don’t you see yourself walking down the streets of Positano or something wearing a striped dress like this, and maybe an incredible straw hat?

SONY DSC

I used to think the worst kind of fabric to work with was the slippery, slinky, shifty kind that wouldn’t stay still and required a thousand weights during cutting.

Wrong. I was SO wrong.

The worst kind of fabric to work with is the super-staticky, nubby kind, the kind that sticks to itself so much that it’s almost impossible to lay it out properly, let alone when you’re working with stripes, and let alone when it streeeeeetches just slightly so that each subsequent stripe is a little bit farther askew.

For the first time, I used up almost every single one  of my glass-head pins, and that was just in folding this fabric evenly before I even pinned on the pattern pieces.

SONY DSC

I hope it’s worth it.

SONY DSC

 

(Sometimes I dance like Elvis.)

After sweating over the cutting process, construction turned out to be a lot easier — especially after all that practice in pinning. It came together in less than two and a half hours. (What? I’m slow.)

Once again, I traded the skirt’s gathers for the box pleats. I’d anticipated some stripe-matching hell there, but it was just fine. Great drafting in action, perhaps?

I added about 2 3/4 inches to the skirt length, but some of that ended up getting shaved off; the skirt front and back ended up different lengths after I sacrificed hem-matching in favor of stripe-matching, so I had to cut down the longer skirt piece. Looking at these photos, I did not quite succeed in making the hems even. WHOOPS. I’m sure it’ll be fine.

SONY DSC

In light of my recent neckline gape with this pattern, I adjusted the bodice front piece by shaving off the shoulder edge to be less sloped. That seems to have solved that problem.

I also shaved a bit off the back of each sleeve (where it meets the armscye) in an attempt to take out some bagginess that came up the first time I made this pattern with the longer sleeves. That fixed the bagginess at the back of the arm, but there was still some weird, uneven bagginess around the middle of my bicep. You can see it especially well in the photo above.

I’m not sure how to fix this, although I suppose I could try taking in the underarm seam? Or shortening that seam? I don’t know. It was there before, so I don’t think I created it with my other modifications. If you have any ideas, let me know.

SONY DSC

I see this as a three-season dress, but in particular, I cannot wait to take it (and my other Moneta) on vacation. Years ago, I had a plain black knit dress that I thought of as my airport dress — it made me feel like a classy traveler, but was totally secret pajamas. Plus it wouldn’t wrinkle no matter what. I wore it to nothingness and mourned its loss, but now I can make replacements! Hell yes!


Pattern: Colette Moneta, size S, with pleats instead of gathers in the skirt.
Fabric: 2.5 yards of 61″ polyester/Lycra ponte knit from Fabric Mart, about $13 on sale.

 

10 thoughts on “the monochrome monetas, part 2

  1. This looks very classy. Do you find the knit clings while you walk? Is a slip necessary? I’m making a lady skater out of similar fabric and want to make sure it will work, especially over tights for fall.

    • Thanks! I think the knit might cling a bit over tights, depending on the “stickiness” of it, if that makes sense. I made this one with the full knowledge that I’d probably end up wearing a slip with it in winter…

    • Thanks! yeah, I’m amazed that I found this fabric — I bought it around the same time Tilly’s Coco pattern was blowing up the blogosphere, and I was pretty sure I would never ever find a striped ponte anywhere. Got lucky!

  2. i can’t believe you matched the stripes so well. For the sleeves, I didn’t see what you meant until you pointed it out. Shouldn’t you take in the seam more in the upper arm and then leave it as is in the lower? It’s always better to have slight bell sleeves, I think, than the opposite.

  3. Pingback: me-mades in the wild (year-end roundup) | root branch bole

  4. Pingback: me made may: part 2 | root branch bole

Leave a Reply

