staple sewing: plantain parade

SONY DSCThis, friends, is what I wear every weekend between October and March: long-sleeved tops, jeans, boots. A fashionista I am not.

The only difference is that this year, I’ll be wearing tops I made, in colors I picked, in the exact right fit and the exact right size. And why make one when you can make three?

I made a trio of Deer & Doe Plantain tees in my favorite kind of knit — mystery knit. Just kidding. It kills me that I have no idea what the fiber content is for these, since they come from the chaos of the $2.97/yard sale table. On the other hand,  $2.97 a yard!

(It’s possible that a blog post about three T-shirts is totally boring.  I … have no defense against that.)

SONY DSC

I started with the fabric with the busiest pattern, then worked my way over to the solid fabric, figuring a pattern would hide any mistakes I made in the early stages of making the Plantain. That was a good instinct — I struggled at first to stretch out the neckline band evenly. That’s mainly because I always, always forget to mark the center front and center back of the bodice pieces. Inevitably, I’ll mark every single notch but forget the CF and CB. I don’t recommend it.

SONY DSC

This print is just right — the more I look at the pictures, the more I love it.

SONY DSC

I’ve read a lot of blog posts about Plantains (does that make me boring, too? Oh wells) and people aren’t lying when they say it’s a quick make. Of course, for most everyone else, “quick make” means 30 minutes, and for me it means 90 minutes. But I’m not complaining!

SONY DSC

I was pleasantly surprised when my mystery knits turned out to be pretty easy to work with. There was only a little rippling, and the prints hid most of that, anyway.

SONY DSC

One of my favorite things about this pattern is the loose fit through the torso. If I’m wearing skinny jeans, I don’t really want a tight shirt, too. This top is fitted through the shoulders, which keeps it from being shapeless and balances out my hips, and that’s all I really need.

SONY DSC

Plus, the sleeves are NICE and long. I like to be able to pull my sleeves up over my thumbs.

SONY DSC

I think you can count on these being in the weekly laundry rotation. And as boring as that is, it’s the best sign of a good make.


Pattern: Deer & Doe Plantain tee, size 38
Fabric: For each top, less than 2 yards of 50″-60″ wide, stretchy knit fabric, about $6 per piece from G Street Fabrics.

6 thoughts on “staple sewing: plantain parade

  1. Just found your blog and going through your archives. You have sold me to the plantain shirt. (I think because I am 5’9″ and from what I’ve read of your sizing..am very similiar.) Thanks!

  2. Pingback: me made may: part 1 | root branch bole

  3. Pingback: me made may: part 2 | root branch bole

Leave a Reply

